Pieter Nooten

Pieter Nooten's fragile and restrained music has been well known for many years.

During the mid-eighties Pieter Nooten meets Anka Wolbert and Ronny Moerings who just formed 'Xymox' together. Nooten becomes one of their main song writers. Xymox records two highly acclaimed albums on 4AD with Nooten.

During this period Nooten teams up with Michael Brook to record 'Sleeps with the fishes', also released on 4AD. This 'soundtrack to heaven' (Melody Maker) would become Nooten’s highly acclaimed masterpiece and 'maintains a cult status up until this day' (amazon.com).


Nooten also writes a track for the album 'Blood' by 'This Mortal Coil'.

In 1989 Xymox signs to PolyGram N.Y. and release their third album, "Twist of Shadows". By 1990, in spite of the band’s success, Nooten decides to leave Xymox due to growing internal musical differences. Whilest Xymox clearly wants to stick to their 80's roots, Nooten starts to explore new musical directions. The new, young dance and ambient music culture intrigues him and a post as in-house producer at the famous One4Two studio’s in Amsterdam is readily undertaken.

During the first half of the nineties Nooten produces countless dance 12inches and ambient orientated music for labels and projects (Hypercycle/First Contact/Ultimate Dream Mix), some of which reach the national record charts.

By 1995 Nooten moves back over to London and teams up with Anka Wolbert again who has by now also left Xymox (for similar reasons). Nooten has become somewhat tired with the slowly more and more morose dance music. He signs a publishing deal with Momentum (London) and it looks their second cooperation proves to be quite succesfull again. Anka and Pieter sign to EMI (NYC) under the name 'Vaselyn'.

However, due to record company internal re-organizations, the 'Vaselyn' project in London gets unexpectedly and suddenly cut short. Anka and Nooten decide to take the material of Vaselyn with them knowing that some day, this material will get its release.

Nooten takes an extended sabbatical from the major record industry during which time he ocassionally writes music for theatre, t.v. and film projects, art and other media.

Around 2004 Anka and Pieter start producing Sophie Zeyl's debut album 'Two Ways of Running'.

When recordings are finished in 2005, Pieter starts producing and remixing the material for OURSPACE, a collection of forgotten and unpolished tracks, also released on the I-rain label.

Anka and Pieter also release Anka's solo album 'Cocoon Time' on I-rain.

Nooten re-enters the music industry and starts writing and composing again. He sings on the Stoa cd 'Silmand' and releases a compilation on the 'Twilight' label.

New and older work can be seen and heard on this web site and myspace.com/pieternooten. In 2010 Nooten signs with rocketgirl in the UK, releasing one of his finest works to date, the brand new 12 track cd called 'Here Is Why'.

Rocket Girl Releases

  • Pieter Nooten
    Someone There
  • Pieter Nooten
    Se Dire Au Revoir
  • Pieter Nooten
  • Pieter Nooten
  • Pieter Nooten
    Surround Us
  • Pieter Nooten
    Here Is Why