• The Sleeping Years

    We're Becoming Islands One By One

    rgirl51, Release Date: 2/6/2008

    ‘We’re becoming Islands One By One” poised to become an instant, yet timeless classic with a refreshingly dynamic twist on acoustic song writing. Dale performs all vocals and guitars, not to mention bass, Hammond organ, Rhodes piano and e-bow parts and was joined by cellist Michelle So and Tom Page from Rothko on drums.  It was recorded and produced in London at The Smokehouse by Ian Dowling, also at the 22nd House by Dale and mastered at Skye Mastering by Denis Blackham.

    The Guardian: 'his voice breaks exquisitely between hope and despair in songs that the acoustic guitar was invented for'

    Dazed and Confused: 'a one-man show that owes his lilting metaphysical lyricism to the likes of Nick Drake, Elliot Smith and John Martyn. It's good to know that there are people like him out there'

    Stuart Bailie (BBC Radio): 'just as Sufjan Stevens has been moved to celebrate the quirks and character of the United States, so Dale Grundle is devising his own charts, full of wonder, dread and reverie. Can't wait to see where he takes us next.'

    The Sleeping Years is the new project from Dale Grundle,formerly of the Catchers.  Now signed to innovative indie-label Rocket Girl and French label Talitres, the debut album “We’re becoming Islands One by One”, is a gorgeous exploration of melody and melancholy. A gifted lyricist, Dale’s exquisitely crafted songs tell of people trying to stay connected in a world seemingly designed to keep them apart.  He is heavily influenced by the language and culture of his home in Ireland, providing a distinct character to this highly personal collection of songs.

    Born in Coleraine, Northern Ireland to an Irish father and a Scottish mother, Dale started his first band Catchers while at school. Their first single ‘Cotton Dress’ came out on Setanta Records and became single of the week in Melody Maker. Their debut album ‘Mute’ was recorded with Mike Hedges in France. Catchers went on to tour with Pulp, Edwyn Collins, The Divine Comedy, Dr. John and Oasis. Their second album ‘Stooping to Fit’ was recorded by Nick Drake’s arranger Robert Kirby.

    Dale started his solo project The Sleeping Years with a trilogy of EPs in 2007, 'You and Me Against The World', 'Setting Fire to Sleepy Towns' and 'Clocks and Clones'.  These were very well received and are very much living proof that independent singles do sell-out.  They also garnered critical acclaim, featuring on BBC Radio 1’s Introducing, the Guardian’s writer’s play list and on the cover mount of Rolling Stone Magazine.  Songs have been heavily played on Gideon Coe’s 6music show and on French radio, having been championed by France’s answer to John Peel, Bernard Lenoir.


    • Setting Fire To Sleepy Towns
    • The Lockkeeper's Cottage
    • You And Me Against The World
    • The Shape Of Things To Come
    • Macosquin, Coleraine
    • Broken Homes
    • Clocks And Clones
    • Human Blues
    • Dressed For Rain
    • Islands

All Rocket Girl Releases

  • The Sleeping Years
    We're Becoming Islands One By One

Show / Hide Press

  • Rock N Reel 10.09.08