The Sleeping Years

The Sleeping Years are: Dale Grundle (vocals, guitars, piano, etc), Tom Page (drums, percussion), Dan Wood (piano, keyboards), Alex Beamont (Cello)

The Sleeping Years is the new project from Dale Grundle, formerly of Catchers. The debut album "We’re Becoming Islands One By One" is a gorgeous exploration of melody and melancholy. A gifted lyricist, Dale's exquisitely crafted songs tell of people trying to stay connected in a world seemingly designed to keep them apart. He is heavily influenced by the language and culture of his home in Ireland, providing a distinct character to this highly personal collection of songs.

Born in Coleraine, Northern Ireland to an Irish father and a Scottish mother, Dale started his first band Catchers while at school. Their first single 'Cotton Dress' came out on Setanta Records and became single of the week in Melody Maker. Their debut album 'Mute' was recorded with Mike Hedges in France. Catchers went on to tour with Pulp, Edwyn Collins, The Divine Comedy, Dr. John, and Oasis. Their second album 'Stooping to Fit' was recorded with Nick Drake's arranger Robert Kirby.

Dale started his solo project The Sleeping Years with a trilogy of EPs in 2007, 'You and Me Against The World,' 'Setting Fire to Sleepy Towns' and 'Clocks and Clones.' These were very well received and are living proof that independent singles do sell out. They also garnered critical acclaim, featured on BBC Radio 1's Introducing, The Guardian's Writers' Playlist and on the cover mount of Rolling Stone and Word Magazine. Songs have been heavily played on Gideon Coe's music show, Stuart Bailie's BBC Radio show, and on French radio, having been championed by France's answer to John Peel, Bernard Lenoir.

The Sleeping Years have toured this year across France, Italy, Belgium, Ireland and the UK, including dates supporting The Bowerbirds, Damien Jurado and Okkervil River.

Rocket Girl Releases

  • The Sleeping Years
    We're Becoming Islands One By One