• Urusei Yatsura

    We Are Urusei Yatsura

    rgirl131, Release Date: 3/3/2023

    The original pressing on clear vinyl sold out. However we have a new limited pressing on GOLD vinyl

    Rocket Girl Records announces a remastered reissue of  “We Are Urusei Yatsura” (originally released in 1996), with bonus vinyl.

    Celebrating the 30th Anniversary of the founding of Glasgow “Geek Rock” band Urusei Yatsura

    – Double Clear-Vinyl Reissue of 1996 Album

    Glasgow/London— 2023 today at a quiet get together NW London, Rocket Girl Records announced the 3rd March 2023 reissue of the lo-fi band’s debut full length album featuring the original album in full, plus a second disc of unreleased demos and B-Sides.

    “I am so excited about the forthcoming double vinyl album which we have been working on for some time” said Vinita Joshi, Label Head at Rocket Girl.

    In the days before “landfill” indie, and in rebellion against a developing Britpop orthodoxy, there were some weird but melodic bands coming of age outside London that drew inspiration from the US underground and the sparkly retro-futurism of Japan. Primitive guitar noise with art rock leanings, post punk DIY and fanzine culture. The best known of these bands was maybe Urusei Yatsura; “noisy stars”, named in honour of Rumiko Takahashi, legendary manga creator.

     Back in 1996, after several increasingly well-received 7’s, the band travelled to Leamington Spa to record their debut album with John Rivers, producer of Swell Maps and Glasgow scene godparents, The Pastels. The resulting album won the group legions of new fans and gained them their first Independent #1 chart placing, alongside peers Ash and Super Furry Animals.

    “These were fertile years in Glasgow, a scene with no name, no single sound, where the magic thread tying everyone together was words and works so personal, they couldn’t be mistaken for anyone else’s. We Are Urusei Yatsura is a cascade of ‘why not?’ thinking. The way ‘Phasers on Stun’ spirals into ‘Sola Kola’; the sunburned 23-second improv at the end of ‘Pachinko’; the slack-echoing strings of the outro to ‘Road Song’ sprayed with the shrapnel of toy electronics. Pure pop magic, Ren & Stimpy on upstairs, ray-guns, Ian’s homemade walkie-talkie speaker, a beatbox, all sealed with a “Talking Tina” doll’s emphatic endorsement: “I love it”” – Nick Soulsby

    The vinyl-only double LP set comprises the original 1996 album recorded by John Rivers, accompanied with an extra disk of unreleased demos, rare singles and B-sides which have not been available since the 90’s. It documents the time leading up to the release of the LP and the singles that came from it, capturing the development, lost pop moments and essential experiments from the eccentric and joyful Glasgow band. The cover has been completely remixed using archive photos and artwork from the time, with new interviews and extensive notes. The release marks 30 years since the official birthday of the band, 9/3/93.

    "When I drove the transit van that took them down to Leamington Spa to record their first proper LP, there was a sense of quiet, assured anticipation. I couldn’t wait to hear it and when I came back a couple of weeks later to pick them back up, I remember so clearly when they played it from the van’s tape deck. Fergus and Graham were hunched over, focusing intently on what they wanted to change about the mix. The reverb wasn’t right or something. Maybe they didn’t like how high the vocals were in the mix. I said to them, you’re listening to the details, but missing what is most important–this is a fantastic record! It was. It is. It is a fantastic record. They were a brilliant live band and I am so lucky to have been able to have been there to see their formation.” – Alex Kapranos.

    “[The record is] a document of something. Who you are, where you are: We Are Urusei Yatsura, here we are.” – Graham Kemp




    • Siamese
    • First Day On A New Planet
    • Pow R Ball
    • Kewpies Like Watermelon
    • Phasers On Stun/Sola Kola
    • Black Hole Love
    • Velvy Bood
    • Plastic Ashtray
    • Death 2 Everyone
    • Pachinko
    • [-]
    • Kernel
    • Road Song
    • It Is
    • On Yr Mind
    • Teen Dream
    • Majesty
    • Burriko Girl
    • Got The Sun
    • Sucker/Kitty Litter
    • Silver Krest
    • Lo-Fi Scary Balloons
    • The Power Of Negative Thinking/The Love That Brings You Down

All Rocket Girl Releases

  • Urusei Yatsura
    We Are Urusei Yatsura
  • Urusei Yatsura
    You Are My Urusei Yatsura

Related Titles Available Through Rocket Girl Mailorder

  • Urusei Yatsura
    All Hail
  • Urusei Yatsura
    Fake Fur CD1
  • Urusei Yatsura
    Kewpies Like Wa...
  • Urusei Yatsura
    Louche 33
  • Urusei Yatsura
    Phasers On Stun
  • Urusei Yatsura
    Slain By Elf (C...
  • Urusei Yatsura
    Slain By Elf (C...
  • Urusei Yatsura
    Strategic Hamle...
  • Helen Love / Ur...