• The Brothers Movement

    The Brothers Movement

    rgirl64, Release Date: 9/11/2009

    Debut album from Dublin based band The Brothers Movement. (Formerly known as Mainline)

    This is the fantastic self titled debut album from Dublin’s  ’The Brothers Movement’.  They formed in 2007 and in a short  span of time  have shared billing with established rock  acts like The Jesus Mary Chain, MC5, Chemical Brothers and Sonic Youth.

    Previously known as Mainline, The Brothers Movement is comprised of Neil Paxton (guitars/vox), Conor Paxton (bass), Danda (guitars/keyboards/vox), Scott Glennon (guitar), Andy Parkes (drums).

    Touted as the “Hard Working Class Heroes of 2008” by Entertainment.ie, The Brothers Movement cite influences ranging from  the  Beatles to My Bloody Valentine,  and their sound recall’s early Dandy Warhols and A Place To Bury Strangers. References to The Verve  also abound due to the bands powerfull, emotive,  woozy  indie -rock  but The Brothers Movement far from being copyists, are obviously hugely talented  and are  ushering  in a new era of Brit-pop, with RCRD LBL noting that the band, “is boldly stepping into Richard Ashcroft  and Co.'s battered trainers.”

    In early 2008 the band spent time recording their debut album in a Philadelphia  studio  with  the Cobbs (BRMC, Peasent, War on Drugs).

    The Brothers Movement also showcased  their talents  at IMRO New Sounds Stage at Oxegen, Ireland’s largest music festival, as well as the Popkomm Festival in Berlin.  Following their  opening slot on the European leg of  Black Rebel Motorcycle Club’s 2008 tour, the band released their  first EP “Blind” in November 2008.  The lead single, also entitled “Blind” received favorable press, with RCRDLBL.Com featuring the track in its “RCRD Selector Download” in March 2009.

    Spring 2009 proved to be an eventful month for The Brothers Movement as they collected accolades left and right, including a write  up in the Future Sounds Column in Record of the Day (UK), calling “their brand of psychedelic ooze better than anyone’s.”


    • Blind
    • Standing Still
    • Sister
    • Someday
    • The Salute
    • Coming Home
    • War And Peace
    • I Am You/You Are Me
    • Is God Dead
    • When We Leave
    • We Shall Lift Our Heads

All Rocket Girl Releases

  • The Brothers Movement
    Blind / Sister
  • The Brothers Movement
    The Brothers Movement
  • The Brothers Movement
    Standing Still / Lay Alone

Show / Hide Press

  • CLASH 01.10

  • HOT PRESS 10.09

  • NME 11.09