• A Place To Bury Strangers

    A Place To Bury Strangers

    rgirl55, Release Date: 3/11/2008

    Debut album from Brooklyn noisniks APTBS .

    Vinyl one is black, vinyl two is orange with an etching on one side.


    The band will return to the UK in November to support fellow Brooklynites MGMT, plus to release the album's preceding single 'I Know I'll See You' on 20th October. After wowing at the South by Southwest (SXSW) festival early this year (where NME declared them one of their top ten bands of the festival), they found themselves England's hottest ticket. Suddenly the "loudest band in NYC", were the most wanted band in London. Back home in the States, the band will spend the end of the summer supporting Nine Inch Nails and The Dandy Warhols across America, and so their creation of what seemed like a somewhat inaccessible aural attack of white noise has become the freshest sound on the circuit. The American imported version of the album started doing the rounds - fans will be pleased to note that in the UK, we are privy to five extra tracks not featured on the American album. Plus the whole thing has been re- mastered. While plenty of comparisons to an array of esteemed bands have been drawn up to A Place to Bury Strangers, there is no doubt that the reverberating sound of feedback, plus the deliberately primal ring of King Kong warring with Godzilla is unmistakably their own. Saw-soaked tracks, fusing Factory Records-esque mystery with the addictive pulses of eardrum piercing austerity, it's no wonder their static-laden sonic qualities have attracted the attention of everyone from NME and Kerrang! to Dazed & Confused. Their more technical approach to music is hardly surprising given front man Oliver Ackermann's sideline building hand-wired guitar pedals. Oliver himself is quite humble about the rise and rise of the band. "We're incredibly grateful that all of this is going on.  We went from putting out a compilation of our demos to playing arenas with Nine Inch Nails in less than a year.  It's been like a chainsaw caught in a whirlwind getting hit by a bus."

    A Place to Bury Strangers are Oliver Ackermann (guitars, vocalist), Jono Mofo (bass) & Jay Space (drums).

    "… a mountainous guitar squall that has the crowd's jaws on the floor slabs … everyone's found their new favourite band." - NME

    "…They are quite brilliant…Watching another band after this is simply inconceivable…" - KERRANG!

    "…Beneath those noisy opuses lurk killer melodies…in London a brilliant new group was discovered." - ARTROCKER

    "…The mark of true genius… I hate to swear in reviews but Fuuuuuuuukkkkkkgghell. YES." - THE FLY

    "…tinnitus-inducing noise-pop against a tension-wracked Joy Division meets Ministry backdrop…they can pull beauty out of eardrum-puncturing bleakness." - PITCHFORK

    "…Best discoveries? [at SXSW]…A Place to bury Strangers…who meld together the Jesus and Mary Chain and New Order to explosive and thrilling effect." - SUNDAY TIMES CULTURE

    "…bringing doom to a new generation." - DAZED & CONFUSED

    "…Let them play one more song before we shut the place down. This band is sick." -  NYPD Officer LIVE SHOWS


    • Missing You
    • Don't Think Lover
    • To Fix The Gash In Your Head
    • The Falling Sun
    • Another Step Away
    • Breathe
    • I Know I'll See You
    • She Dies
    • My Weakness
    • Ocean

All Rocket Girl Releases

  • A Place To Bury Strangers
    Missing You
  • A Place To Bury Strangers
    A Place To Bury Strangers
  • A Place To Bury Strangers
    I Know I'll See You