Rocket Girl Label / Releases



Surround Us

Pieter Nooten

CD Album (rgirl85)
Released May 28, 2012 


Exploring the possibilities of electronica and laptop composition even further; Pieter Nooten, one of the original members of Clan of Xymox and former collaborator with Michael Brook brings us the astounding acoustic and organic sounding 'Surround Us'.

The album features gorgeous guest vocalists interspersed with beautiful, classical compositions.


Far beyond the clichés of contemporary electronica, Nooten squeezes heart wrenching melancholia -beautifully executed, honest and intimate - out of the 'digital box', proving how good and deeply heartfelt home recorded electronica can sound, Nooten delivers a true masterpiece of lap top composition.


In collaboration with improv cellist Lucas Stam, whose sensitive and intuitive playing technique cuts right through some of the most intense instrumentals; Nooten and Stam prove to be the pioneers of a long-expected period in contemporary music. A future that is NOT turning out clinical nu jazz or industrial noise fresh from the academies, neither mind numbing corporate pop, playable in any old mp3 format. Here we experience warmth and dynamics, features that seemed so long lost in music. 'Surround Us' brims with vitality, humanity, pain, passion and sweet, sweet melancholia


Pieter is more influenced by"the depth and beauty of the simplest Bach fugue than by most modern pop".


Current line-up: Pieter Nooten (laptop, keyboards, vocals),Lucas Stam (cello).Live VJ: Miryam Chachmany


  • 01.   Ode
  • 02.   Anybody
  • 03.   An End
  • 04.   Soothing Dust
  • 05.   Drone
  • 06.   This World
  • 07.   Blue Wonder
  • 08.   Around Us
  • 09.   Secret Room
  • 10.   Romanz
  • 11.   Blue Square
  • 12.   Dutch Clouds

Press & Reviews

Buy Online

Format CD Album Price £10.00

Buy Digital / MP3