Rocket Girl Label / Releases




Robin Guthrie

CD Album (rgirl60)
Released September 1, 2009 

Robin Guthrie releases a new album of filmic, intricate instrumental music Carousel, via Rocket Girl on August 28th, plus two new limited edition EPs, Angel Falls and Songs To Help My Children Sleep. Carousel is the follow up to the critically acclaimed instrumental albums Continental and Imperial.

We have a few words to describe Carousel – uplifting, summery, opulent, dreamlike, exquisite, moving – with Guthrie quietly coaxing beauty out of layers of echoes and always inventive soundscaping.

Guthrie has been a massive influence on everyone from My Bloody Valentine through to Antony and the Johnsons, new 4AD Act The Big Pink andM83. In recent years he's worked with School Of Seven Bells, John Foxx (on this year's Mirrorball album, described by Q Magazine as 'full of myriad charms . . . encompassing the best of both artists'), Ulrich Schnauss, Harold Budd (with whom he made two albums in 2007, Before The Day Breaks and After The Night Falls) and Brooklyn’s Mahogany and Apollo Heights.

Given the quality of Carousel, it's not surprising that as a guitarist and producer, though most people know about his work as the Cocteau Twins principal sound designer, his defining role in the now vogue-ishly fashionable early '90s shoegazing scene with his productions for the likes of Lush and Chapterhouse shouldn’tgoun-noticed.

Guthrie is also developing an impressive reputation as a composer of film soundtracks and in the visual arts. He's scored two movies – Greg Araki's Mysterious Skin and the Dany Saadia directed 3:19– for both of which he released a soundtrack album, and has performed extensively withLumière, and its recently premiered successor Galerie, both films that he has created as backdrops for his atmospheric, hypnotic guitar-based instrumental concerts.


  • 01.   Some Sort of Paradise
  • 02.   Sparkle
  • 03.   Delight
  • 04.   Close My Eyes And Burn
  • 05.   Search Among The Flowers
  • 06.   Mission Dolores
  • 07.   Autochromes
  • 08.   The Girl With The Little Wings
  • 09.   Waiting By the Carousel
  • 10.   Little Big Fish

Buy Online

Format CD Album Price £10.00

Buy Digital / MP3